Thread: the Making of the MerFanc

the Making of the MerFanc

hey all! I am brand new to mer-ing and tailmaking and anything of the sort but I really wanted to chronicle my journey from the beginning. While I hope to someday get a gorgeous silicone tail, I cannot afford it now and I want to make sure I like this whole adventure before dropping what would be money for a car on a tail. I also really want to incorporate some things into the tail that can't necessarily be done with silicone so I think a fabric one is a good start anyway.

Before I begin I want to tell you a bit about my dream and my vision. So if you don't know what a merFanc is, well that's ok because it doesn't exist. but the Afanc (or Adanc or Addac or any other number of odd translations) is a highly misunderstood Welsh mythological lake monster. The Afanc was just happily minding his own business one day - having fun, splashing in his lake, hanging with his fish buddies - when a few dwarfs came to his lake side. Confused and angry at the trespassing, the Afanc tried to go and politely ask them to leave. But instead, they freaking tased him (ok not really) then chained him up and dragged him behind an ox-drawn cart before dumping him in some random lake at the top of a lonely and sad mountain where he didn't get to have any fishy friends.

Ok so that might not be the whole truth. But it's my truth and thats what matters. Anywho, I discovered the Afanc around a year ago now and I just completely fell in love with absolutely everything about him and his story. Ever since, I have been using the Afanc as an alias all over the internet. It is my Cosplay handle, my Etsy shop name, my Lets Play/Youtube channel and my SCA Heraldry is even my own chimera version of the Afanc.