Thread: Let's share Videography, Editing, and YouTube Tips!

Post Let's share Videography, Editing, and YouTube Tips!

Videography, Editing, and YouTube Tips- Let's Share!

Just some tips off the top of my head from the videos I’ve done! I am NOT a professional by any means, I've just been making videos for about 3 years and just know what my personal experience with this is. I thought this could be a thread where we share tips with each other ^_^

Also, some of this stuff is very basic, some more advanced. Don't be discouraged if you're a beginner and some of it seems overwhelming or over your head. We all start somewhere, and I'm sure some of you all could tell me stuff that would be way over my head too!

So here would be my input/advice

Videography tips

-Read the manual for your camera! Seriously, lots of people don't take the time to do this, but it can have a ton of really helpful information!

-If you're shooting with a phone, please for the love of god, shoot in landscape mode, unless you think profile mode really is the best way to capture the shot. (That may just be a me thing though, it irks me :P) Don't mix footage taken in landscape and profile in one video, it's jarring and makes the profile footage look really small when both are edited together like that.

-Tired of water spots when you go above the surface? I’ve had quite a lot of footage ruined by one one well placed water spot. Put a hydrophobic coating on your camera leans. You can get coating like this for your windshield in the auto section. Problem solved!

-If you're swimming in water that is deeper than you can dive, either hold on to that sucker really well, or put a flotation device on it. Even just using some fishing wire to tie around the strap hole or a hole in the rig, and tying a small piece of pool noodle on there can be a camera saver! Some mers have lost their cameras to the depths, or have had to have scuba divers retrieve it for them.