Thread: Hello from the Netherlands!

Junior Member Euro Pod Mermaid Màiri's Avatar

Red face Hello from the Netherlands!

Hello mers, let me introduce myself:

I am Mermaid Màiri (for now, I don't really have a mermaid name yet, but for now this suits me well :-) ), or my real name: Marije. I've been on this forum since August, but never found the time to actually post anything. But here I am! I am 30 years old and come from the Netherlands. Currently I have a job as an English teacher at a secundary school (I'm in my last year of my degree).

I did a beginners mermaiding course at the mermaid school of Marijke Pie (Mermaid Crystal) in September and it was a dream come true. :-)
    I used to go to Scotland on holiday with my family almost every year and I also lived there for a year during my masters degree in European Archaeology and Celtic studies. I've always been passionate about everything Celtic and (pre-)history (I am an Irish dancer, play the harp, sing folk songs, speak Irish and Scottish Gaelic, etc.); this includes fairytales. I particularly love the stories about mermaids and selkies. Furthermore I like horseback riding, am a fan of Disney and love to go to fantasy festivals fully dressed up.

In July 2014 my dad passed away and I miss him dearly. He was such a huge fan of the ocean and everything fishy and he inspired me a great deal in this. It really helps that I live close to the beach (together with my dog, cat, rabbits, chickens, mum, sister and brother; hoping to find a place of my own next year). I love swimming and since August I am training with a small monofin.

Last Friday I started training (and getting lessons) with a big competitive monofin. I really love it! In the future I also hope to get my scuba diving certificate and get training in freediving. At the moment I own an eco mertailor fabric tail, but I'm dreaming of getting a full silicone tail by Merbella in the future.

Greetings from wintery Netherlands