PDA

View Full Version : Mermaid Meet-up in Brisbane or Gold Coast

Mermaid Labrynth
02-17-2015, 05:44 AM
Hello, im a bit of a newbie to the forums but i saw others organizing meet-ups for mermaid swims, i would love to do this with others local to me in Brisbane or i dont mind traveling down to the Gold Coast we well if need be. Any other Queensland Mers interested and know of pools or even other locations? I usually use my local pool but i know there are the man made lagoons at Redcliffe or even at South Bank.

Mermaid Kelda
02-17-2015, 06:20 AM
When Selene and I met up, we used the pool at UQ in Brissie. It's olympic sized, and they gave us a lane to ourselves, but it's heavily chlorinated and I could barely open my eyes after the few hours swimming there. So, I'd recommend that only as a last resort :P

There are lots of natural springs up on the Sunshine Coast - they take a while to get to, but if you don't mind a car trip and a short walk carrying our tails, they're beautiful places to swim. Pure, fresh, deep water perfect for mermaids (and photoshoots!).

Mermaid Labrynth
02-17-2015, 06:33 AM
I usually use the local Caboolture pool, its less harsh on the eyes, partial salt water too. I would definitely love to see some natural places on the sunshine coast though! I am limited with travel with only public transport currently, though i may be able to convince a friend to come for a trip since there is some gorgeous areas up that way. ;)

Mermaid Kelda
02-17-2015, 06:54 AM
Public transport is no issue! If you can catch a train up to Landsborough, we can take a few cars out :) I'm really easy on location, in any case. I haven't been to the Caboolture pool before - nice to know it's partial salt! I assume they allow tails, then?

Mermaid Labrynth
02-17-2015, 07:44 AM
Ive swam there several times now, haven't had any issues at all, from staff or other swimmers, there is a few lanes set up. The staff are all quite relaxed, It's a 50m as well so a decent length. =)