PDA

View Full Version : Mermaid Story

Neria
12-28-2011, 08:46 PM
Hi guys! I am hoping to be a published author one day and this is my first attempt. I have writing this book about a girl who discovers she is a mermaid. It is aimed at kids ages 9-13. Here it is, it is not finished yet but tell me what you think.

My Friend is a Fish
Chapter 1
I stood nervously on the slippery diving blocks. I glanced down at the water. It looked so deep, so cold. A chill ran through me and I had grip onto the block to keep from falling off.
My best friend Miranda was tense on the diving block next to me in lane five, her long golden brown hair was stuffed in the tight faded yellow and blue swim team cap. My thin shoulder length blond hair easlily fit into my brand new cap. Next to me in lane three was Erica, who had just started swim team this season, like me.
"Swimmers, take your marks." I heard the anoucer say and then suddenly the loud buzz went off and we dove in. The icy water rushed passed me as I held my streamline. Even through the water I could hear my younger brother cheering for me in the stands.
I crashed up through the surface of the water and gasped for a breath. I reached my arms out and pumped my legs as hard as I could doing butterfly. Even going as hard as I was, Miranda was much faster. I watched her out of the corner of my eye as she gracefully flew through the water. She appeared totally at ease, not even trying her hardest I bet. She made it look more like dancing than swimming.
Me and Erica were tied for the first lap but I passed her on the second lap. There was no way I could beat Miranda, but maybe I could at least get a second and beat Erica. Erica raced up behind me in the fourth lap and I knew I had to speed up to get to the finish before her.