PDA

View Full Version : Not ready to go vegan? Share ways you try to be good to the earth in other ways!

Mermaid Momo
08-09-2015, 09:35 PM
With the recent wave of posts from Princess kae-Leah (sorry if I spelled your name wrong Princess, I'm not really good at spelling) about being good to the earth, I started thinking about ways what I do impact the earth, then when members talked about how a lot of her posts or other mers on the forum talk about vegan or vegetarian diets as a way to be good to the earth (animals mostly) I noticed that they leave out other ways people can be eco-conscious that doesn't require anyone to change their diet!

Ways I'm eco-conscious:

I use a glass straw => less waste
I carry my own cup with me =>also less waste
I recycle the heck out of everything, including clothes (I barely ever buy new clothes, if I do it's because either I can't find the exact piece or I really needed it) and I don't throw any clothes out, I donate them, or if they're too damaged, I salvage the fabric for other projects or to make new clothes.
I compost; I've got a tiny little bucket for composting. why so small? because my mom hates seeing it and smelling it lol.
I garden; growing my own food is very important to me because #1: if I'm not buying produce from stores that are out of season then I won't be contributing to the pollution caused by transporting those good. #2: I'm not contributing to the mass extinction of honey bees by buying produce where the pesticides that kill them are in use (and I plant flowers bees love) #3: I know what chemicals I'm consuming (none since I don't use pesticides besides a mix of cayenne pepper and other natural ingredients)

Things I want to get into to decrease my foot print:

cloth menstrual pads; I really want to get into them, but I can't exactly figure out how to make them and now the US government put a tax on the sale of them so buying them are so dang expensive.