PDA

View Full Version : New monofin for pre-made tail...?

MermaidKinsie
09-13-2015, 07:58 PM
Okay, so I'm a bit new to this mermaiding thing...but I did do some research on tails, and decided on a Fin Fun tail. I believe those also come with monofins but I've also read that the Fin Fun monofins are not great quality.

I'm looking for a monofin that will:

Improve or aide in my dolphin kick form
has decent propulsion
be good for ocean & pool swimming
is relatively cheap but well-made
will fit in a Fin Fun tail
will fit a women's size 11 foot

I did look into the Finis foil but I'm not sure it will fit my tail. Actually, I was wondering if anyone knows what would fit in a Fin Fun tail? And now I see people talking about closed and semi-closed tails and I'm completely lost with monofins. :$

Mermaid Jaffa
09-14-2015, 12:36 AM
A Rapid but you will have to cut it in a fin shape.

I'm currently using a Mirage Rubber Mermaid Fin but that size only goes up to size 8, if you have very very skinny feet. This fin will fit both Fin Fun and Magictail. I'm hoping they will make adult sizes but as it is, they are still new in the market.

Mer-Crazy
09-14-2015, 03:04 AM
I so hope they make the mirage rubber fin in adult! I love the look of it.

Also thanks for the advice Jaffa! I was really curious about this one myself.

MermaidKinsie
09-14-2015, 06:52 PM
Thanks for the help you two! In the end, I decided to buy a custom pre-cut Finis Rapid from MermaidDreams (http://mermaidreams.com/shop/monofin-accessories/mermaid-tail-monofin/). It was actually cheaper than buying straight from Finis and cutting it myself; I'm impressed!!

margebaldwin19
09-16-2015, 06:28 PM
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/16/a9f9812d920838edf13f0a83a5501893.jpg