PDA

View Full Version : What do YOU look for in a monofin?

Stumerchick
01-12-2016, 03:51 PM
Hi folks,

I'm kind of doing some field research here, so I'm hoping all of you experienced merfolk can help me out. What do most of you look for in a monofin? Is your first priority propulsion? Durability? Fit? Is it better to have a stiff fin or a more flexible one? Or is it entirely down to personal preference?

I have an idea for a fabric tail, and I'm trying to decide which monofin to experiment with. Right now I have a Finis Rapid that I've cut down to a nice tail shape, and I just picked up a Suntail Nunui. Still deciding what I like and don't like about both--there are pros and cons for each. I'm just trying to get information from other swimmers about what THEY like in their monofins so I can take that into consideration. I'm still pretty new at this.

On a related note, I REALLY like the look of the Hydra fins. Does anyone have any thoughts on that brand? And are there any US companies that carry them? I've found several for an excellent price, then I discover that the company is overseas and shipping makes the cost prohibitive.

Mermaid_Sarina
01-12-2016, 05:53 PM
Hi folks,

I'm kind of doing some field research here, so I'm hoping all of you experienced merfolk can help me out. What do most of you look for in a monofin? Is your first priority propulsion? Durability? Fit? Is it better to have a stiff fin or a more flexible one? Or is it entirely down to personal preference?

I have an idea for a fabric tail, and I'm trying to decide which monofin to experiment with. Right now I have a Finis Rapid that I've cut down to a nice tail shape, and I just picked up a Suntail Nunui. Still deciding what I like and don't like about both--there are pros and cons for each. I'm just trying to get information from other swimmers about what THEY like in their monofins so I can take that into consideration. I'm still pretty new at this.