PDA

View Full Version : newbie, saying hi

shimmygoddess
02-26-2012, 01:26 PM
Hi there, I just wanted to say hi. I am a professional photographer and bellydance performer in NC and in the process of making my own mermaid tail mostly to use for photoshoots, (mine) LOL. I made a quick one for my daughter last summer before our beach trip but it was a quick one, just out of satin and then then another layer of iridescent fabric. I made a matching bra top and covered it in real seashells. I am in the process of making a pearl and seashell bellydance costume and thought before I brave making another tail, I will apply the same techniques and make a 'mermaid' bra and belt set. I can't wait to start, I hope it warms up soon. I love mermaids! I love drawing and have just started painting as well.

Shimmies from NC
Amara
electricshimmy.com

http://electricshimmy.com/mermaidanna.jpg

Mermaid Saphira
02-26-2012, 01:35 PM
^ Welcome!! Is that your daughter? She is so precious! Are you planning to make her a swimmable tail as well? :)

shimmygoddess
02-26-2012, 02:19 PM
Yes, She is 6 now. She loves mermaids too! She keeps asking for a new tale. LOL. This one actually turned out too small, but since it was only for photos, it was ok. It was such a last minute project and I did the whole costume 2 days before we left for your vacation. I stuffed the fluke w/ stuffing..LOL. Totally not waterproof. I will make her one to swim in too. I have been reading so much and just can't decide if I should do the latex or the silicone, sigh. And if I want to paint scales, use chicken wire/netting, or try something else. Decisions Decisions.

Odette
02-27-2012, 07:32 PM
wonderful. welcome to the forum.
i used to bellydance too but it lost its luster for me. i would love to see your performance.

ShyMer
02-27-2012, 09:59 PM
Lovely photo! She looks adorable <3

Looking forward to seeing more stuff!

shimmygoddess
03-01-2012, 06:44 PM