PDA

View Full Version : This May Be Personal, But What's The Most You Mers Would Consider Spending On A Tail?

Princess Kae-Leah
02-26-2012, 05:18 PM
For me, I don't think I could ever justify spending more than $500 on what is essentially a costume.

AniaR
02-26-2012, 05:30 PM
it's different for everyone KL, I make a bit of my living as a mer so high quality and something that will last me years is what I needed.

Mermaid Saphira
02-26-2012, 05:32 PM
Never over $200 as I am not a pro and do not need a tail to make $$ as Raina does with her tail. I just need mine to read @ the library to kids and swim ;)

Princess Kae-Leah
02-26-2012, 05:51 PM
@Raina, I understand that. I try to keep that in mind, that for you and other pro mers like Raven, etc., your high-end tails is essentially a business expense. It's comparing apples and oranges to compare what meets your needs to mine.

Moonflower
02-26-2012, 08:43 PM
If I had the money to spend on a tail I would spend a few thousand on something amazing. However, I don't... But I can justify a few hundred, a little at a time, on my own work.

Theta
02-26-2012, 09:39 PM
I'm in a position right now to spend a little bit more than I would have a few years ago on a tail. I'm not a professional, although I may try for that after my braces are off in the summer, but it's worth it to make it that much more real to me.

But I'm one of those people who blows a ton of money on hobbies. Some people spend their money on cars, or clothes, or a nice house or what have you. Not me! I've got a kimono collection worth several thousand dollars at this point, but my winter coat is five years old and won't zip anymore, lol.

I think it has a lot to do with what your priorities are :)

Mermaid Lorelei
02-26-2012, 10:53 PM
Yay for another kimono collector!

Theta
02-26-2012, 11:29 PM
Dude! Yay! yayyyyyyyyy!

MermaidAubrin
02-26-2012, 11:50 PM
If I had that kind of money I would, but I don't so guess I don't have to think about that :$

Gem Stone