PDA

View Full Version : When You're Not A Mer....

Artisankatie
03-07-2012, 01:10 AM
What are you when you're human? Are you a student? Have a totally cool/boring job?

I suppose I should go first :P

My name is Katie (as you could probably tell), and I'm primarily a uni student. I've discovered I'm not made for the general workforce (having tried both sit down jobs and more active jobs, my back just hates work! And my brain gets too hungry.), so I'm devoting my life to academia. My highest qualification at the moment is the Honours degree of Bachelor of Arts. If you hear jokes about Arts degrees not being useful, they're totally true (unless you're REALLY lucky). But if you need advice on historical costume (especially 14th century), ask away! To go with that, I put my research into practice and so I have more costumes than real people clothes. I have sort of a small following with costuming that makes me a little pocket money ;)

My main academic passion though, is science. I just love learning how things work! At the moment I'm in the first year of a Bachelor of Science, and I hope to go on to a Doctorate in good time. I'm studying Geoscience and Biology at the moment, I expect to do a double major in Geoscience and hopefully work with the CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) when I'm done, making synthetic rocks, or working at a mine (big money in mining in Australia!), or as a paleontologist! Though most likely I'll end up tutoring at university :P

So I hope that wasn't too boring, and I'm curious about what all you other merpeople get up to minus the mer!

Princess Kae-Leah
03-07-2012, 01:14 AM
I'm a writer and doll collector

Mermaasai
03-07-2012, 01:23 AM
oOoOoO neat Katie! We are made of similar stuff you and I.

Well here I am, My name is Ndola, I have an associates degree in applied sciences.
I do some freelance commission art work from time to time (mostly watercolors or acrylics)