PDA

View Full Version : Silicone monofins + beginners =?

Aodhamair
09-03-2018, 04:59 PM
Hi merfolk,

I am an absolute beginner and looking into which monofin to buy as my first one.

I am going to do a mermaid introduction course next Sunday and will get to try out their finfun monofins/skins.
However if I enjoy mermaiding as much as I think I will, I will want to buy my own monofin for it soon. Now I absolutely love the flop, promised comfort, shape and look of the Finis Luna and the Fantasea monofins.
Now my question is: are those at all suitable for a monofin novice like me?

Alternatively I am thinking maybe just get a finis foil first (they are cheap and seem to be relatively decent but I don't like the shape as much)

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!​.

Mermaid_Mari
09-03-2018, 06:27 PM
The only thing I wouldn’t reccomend about the Luna for beginners is that it’s not as easy to slip off in an emergency as the straps are tight around the ankles, rather than like the FinFun or Suntails that have a loose pocket which is great for beginners. Ultimately it’s up to you and how comfortable you feel with something a bit more advanced

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ChelseaSelkie
09-04-2018, 03:20 AM
The fantasea is supposed to be hands-free to remove and exceptionally comfortable, according to both M. Raina and Courtney M's reviews. It is going to be my first fin.
However, I do not see it used with fin skins outside of the ones Mertailor makes for them, so it might be limiting?

Sent from my [device_name] using MerNetwork mobile app

Aodhamair
09-04-2018, 03:54 AM
Thank you so much for your response Mari. I may just get something cheap to practice with first and move up from there. I guess I’ll wait until after my introduction lesson to really decide if it is for me and if I think I can handle it. It is just kinda hard to tell without trying first.

Aodhamair
09-04-2018, 03:56 AM