PDA

View Full Version : Biology of Fishes

Coradion
05-15-2012, 03:29 AM
I don't know if anyone will find this helpful, but I'm a Marine Bio undergrad and my focus is ichthyology and fish biology. I'm pretty sure this will be reflected heavily in my tail and already is in my monofin. I thought it might be good to start a thread on different aspects of fishes that can be applied to mermaid tails. This might help with inspiration, making more realistic tails, whatever. If you have a question about fishes or a particular fish post it and I or someone else may be able to answer.

Prince Calypso
05-15-2012, 05:23 AM
marine biologist among mermaids dude your rock.
i honestly at one point wanted to study marine life but it required way too much math work and i suck at math, but it would be extremely interesting to hear your point of view on mermaids and tails based on different species of fish

my own mer-persona is based on the mermaids from Pirates of the Caribbean. i have no clue what fish species they were based on if any
but ive always had things for fish with flowly fins as well bone and plated fish and sharks

Coradion
05-15-2012, 07:49 AM
The POTC mermaids probably aren't based on any fish I know, but they do show some characteristics of certain marine fishes. The POTC mermaids' paired fins look like they were meant to be showy not functional. Paired fins usually serve to balance in the water as well as turn and maneuver. The caudal fins though are probably the most notable aspect of the POTC mermaids. While they are rather disproportionately large, they are also heavily forked. This is a characteristic of pelagic fishes which are strong and fast swimmers. Most predatory pelagic fishes have this type of tail.

Prince Calypso
05-15-2012, 11:52 PM
oh wow. i wonder how many mermaid know that their flukes describe the kind of fish they are based on.
i never knew that forked or pointed fins were a sign of predatory fish.