PDA

View Full Version : Surfacing? And another swimming question.

Thalassa
06-16-2012, 11:22 PM
I swam today for the first time in my monofin, and while I loved it I ran into a few difficulties. I'm not good at swimming, my normal mode of swim is doggie-paddle. XP When surfacing for a breath I found myself doggie paddling and dragging my tail behind like so much baggage. There has got to be a better way to surface, right?

Also, I've seen pictures/movies of mers swimming/floating backwards with head above water. How do you do that? I know theres a technique you can do with your hands to tread water, does that help?

In addition, I seem to be able to stroke down with my feet well, but then not able to make them come back UP again. As a result, my movement is sort of...awkward. Any tips? Do I just need to make my core stronger?

Last thing: I found myself standing on my monofin a LOT. In a monofin that's okay. In my tail, I'm afraid I'll ruin it. How do you "rest" upright (like, to talk to people) in a pool that's not deep enough for you to just tread water? Do you bend your knees and tuck your tail up, or what?

EDIT: I wanted to open this up just in case others had basic swimming questions they wanted to put in, and because I didn't want to start a whole new thread with every question I have (don't want to spam the forum). Hope that's okay!

Spindrift
06-16-2012, 11:34 PM
Hang on to the sides, maybe?

Thalassa
06-16-2012, 11:39 PM
But in a shallow pool, if I hang onto the side my feet still drift down so I'm almost standing. Is that okay? I'm just really worried I'm going to ruin my fluke when I get it.

LittleTreasure
06-16-2012, 11:45 PM
I think swimming in a monofin takes a lot of practice, but you can make it work! It really involves a lot of work from your core, rather than your feet. To make that natural wavy dolphin kick the movement should start from your chest and core (I think that's what I feel when I do it, but hey, maybe I'm doing it wrong).