PDA

View Full Version : Horse Abuse In NYC

Ayla of Duluth
07-04-2012, 12:26 PM
Recently, I have been made aware of claims of carriage horse abuse in New York. Prior to this morning's research on the topic, I was completely unaware of these happenings going on. So before I went off to work as a carriage driver myself, I wanted to say a few things that went through my mind as I was browsing these claims, because horses are very important to me, and I love seeing people smile when they come up to meet my horses.

A google search for "Carriage horse abuse NYC" brings up many websites on the subject, the first 3 are the ASPCA, NYCLASS, and obviously, PETA. NYCLASS stands for New Yorkers for Clean, Liveable, And Safe Streets.

Reading into the ASPCA website, they have a section for facts. It reads as follows;
"Facts about New York City's Carriage Horse Industry

There are now approximately 204 carriage horses in the city and approximately 300 licensed operators.
These horses are permitted to work nine hours a day, seven days a week.
There are no pastures for grazing, no opportunities to roll in the dirt, lie in the sun, run or socialize with an equine companion.
It is illegal for a driver to operate a carriage when the temperature is 90 degrees F or above, or 18 degrees F or below. No adjustment is made to account for wind chill or the humidity index.
After three carriage horses died during a heat wave in the summer of 1988, New York City Councilmembers approved a law that greatly restricted when and where these horses were worked. But in 1994, the law was weakened by lengthening the hours that the horses are allowed to work and enlarging the areas in which the horses are permitted to travel including more of traffic-congested midtown Manhattan."