PDA

View Full Version : Greeting Everyone!

Merman_Shawn
07-13-2012, 02:50 AM
Hello everyone! So I've been "lurking" on these forums and various pages for years, but figured it was about time to make an account and introduce myself.
I'm Shawn, I'm 28, I live in New York, but have lived in California and grew up in Colorado. As a child, I would visit my Grandparents in Florida, and my favorite place on the planet to go was Weeki Wachi Springs. Needless to say I've loved merfolk for years and am trying to make my way into this wonderful community.
I have always had an affinity with the ocean, and I'm so pleased to announce I finally live within walking distance from the water. The only downside is that I live right next to a jellyfish nursery. Don't try to swim if I ever have you over as you can't move an inch in any direction without bumping into hundreds of them lol.
I'm a make up artist by trade(SFX and Beauty Make Up), and I'm about to attempt to make my first silicone tail. The resources provided here are very detailed and helpful. Thanks to everyone for contributing!
Ok, I'm done rambling, nice to meet everyone!

Merman Shawn

spottedcatfish
07-13-2012, 04:12 AM
Welcome Merman_Shawn. Where did you live in California?

Merman_Shawn
07-13-2012, 05:51 AM
Thank you spottedcatfish! I lived in Temecula(That's about half-way between LA and San Diego for the non-California people). I see you live in SD, I'm so jealous! I love San Diego and would move back in a heartbeat if the job market ever gets out of the crapper.

Spindrift
07-13-2012, 06:43 AM
Glad to see another NY-based mer on the boards :)

Merman_Shawn
07-13-2012, 07:59 AM
Glad to see another NY-based mer on the boards :)

Hurray! Another NY Mer! Did you go the Mermaid Parade/Ball last month? It was my first, I had such a great time!
I would love to find a swimming buddy, I have many years of swimming experience, but I lack a bit in the mono-fin department.

Spindrift
07-13-2012, 08:14 AM