PDA

View Full Version : Dreams of Being a Merman...

Drowning
07-17-2012, 10:03 AM
Hello all you wonderful Merfolk!

I moved to the Tampa, FL a few years ago to pursue a lifelong interest in diving, luxuriating in the underwater world... and maybe even coming out of the clamshell as a Merman. I followed a few discussions here, and it left me confused, a little scared, but excited! I'm in fairly decent shape (martial arts), a certified (novice) scuba diver, and love to swim underwater. Static is about 2:45 or so. I'm far too shy to think of performing, but I would love to learn to be a Merman.

Any advice would mean a lot to me!

Jay
(Drowning...)

babsannee
07-17-2012, 10:19 AM
Welcome!

Merman Dan
07-17-2012, 10:27 AM
Welcome!

Mermaid Aurora
07-17-2012, 11:04 AM
Hi jay! always great to have mermen around here :3

Merman_Shawn
07-17-2012, 11:19 AM
Welcome! I'm a newbie here too, it's nice to see other mermen swimming around out there.

Drowning
07-17-2012, 11:20 AM
Hi jay! always great to have mermen around here :3

Thank you, Sophia! Now I just need to find someone local willing to teach me...

Drowning
07-17-2012, 11:24 AM
Welcome! I'm a newbie here too, it's nice to see other mermen swimming around out there.

Thanks, Shawn. I'd love to chat with you about your experiences sometime.

Merman_Shawn
07-17-2012, 11:38 AM
It sounds like you have a step up on me with the swimming experience. I've never scuba dived or free dived, but I was on a swim team for two years and did junior life guarding when I was younger. I'm a little out of shape, but I tested my static in the bath tub yesterday, it currently sits around 2:00(It used to be 3:00). I'm not sure what my dynamic time is, but I'll test it the next time I'm at the pool. :)

Drowning
07-17-2012, 11:48 AM