PDA

View Full Version : Greetings!

Jadestone
07-19-2012, 01:06 AM
Hello! I'm Jade, and I'm a college student hailing from Illinois and attending school in Ohio. This morning I found out about "professional mermaids" and after hours of reading blogs and looking through websites it felt like one of my childhood dreams had just come true!

I'm 20 years old, and have always loved mythology and mythical creatures. While dragons were my favorite, mermaids held a special place in my heart. I've always wanted the ability to breathe underwater over the ability to fly, and would pretend I was all manner of sea creatures while swimming in pools/the small lake I live on, including (if not especially!) mermaids. Although I'm probably not as good at it now, I'd perfected swimming with a dolphin kick at a young age for that very purpose (:

I don't own a tail yet, but I hope to make my own soon. I'm a poor college student so it'll just be swimsuit material over a monofin (and decorations), but I'm excited nonetheless. I won't be able to start constructing it for a few more weeks however, sadly, as I'm leaving for family vacation on saturday (no time for a monofin to ship before we're gone! Alas!).

Hmm, what else. I took swimming lessons from age 4-12 and diving lessons for a summer after that. Living on a small lake, I swim every sumer, plus family trips to the ocean some years. I've always loved swimming and been comfortable in water, and making my own tail will give me something fun and new to practice! Not to mention I'm working on getting better at crafting things, especially sewing. Earlier this summer I made two plush giant squids, and I'm currently working on making my halloween costume with a friend (Jessie from Team Rocket of pokemon). I've also altered a hoodie and added features so it resembles a dragon, and made a pair of 5-foot+ movable dragon wings.