PDA

View Full Version : New Tail Designer

Morticia Mermaid
08-30-2012, 12:26 PM
Hi everyone. I am currently working on building up my own design label (It's called Shadow Fancy, short for Shadow Fantasy Creations) and I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips? I plan on starting with some tails and mermaid accessories (But I hope to venture into other areas as I'm a Fantasy clothing designer, but thats for another thread). I am planning on starting out with making cloth tails, mostly starting off with simple ones, and I plan on calling them training tails. They will be generally inexpensive, but they will give people the opportunity to try out a tail without spending too much so they can see if it would be something they enjoy, and they could also be used by everyone who wants to work on their swimming while in a tail. I think its something that could benefit everyone in the mer community.

I'm hoping to also offer a bit more complex cloth tails, extra fins and such to make a training tail something someone could enjoy using in public until they could afford a silicone tail (I'll be getting one from Fish Butts and one from Raven with Merbellas, I love them both), or to add extra "drag" so if someone wanted they could use it to work on their swimming strength.

I am highly supportive of re-using and recycled materials. The monofins I will be using in the tail will be the oceanica monofin, I love the shape and that they are recycled. I am hoping that I can eventually use all planet friendly materials, including hemp fabrics for the tails. I already make my jewelry out of hemp cord and abandoned seashells (I never take anything from a beach that would require me "evicting" an animal from its home).