PDA

View Full Version : How to start out modeling?

Blondie
09-18-2012, 12:04 AM
So I've always wanted to model. I sort of got into it when I was a freshman in high school with a talent search but my parents pulled me out of it. Which I understand, it's a risky industry if you don't tread correctly.

Anyways, I've been tossing back and forth the idea of trying it again. But I have no idea where to start. How do you get into photo shoots/make your name? My friend is a model but she doesn't tell me any information since it's "competitive". But she's always doing photo shoots! Do you have to pay for your photo shoots? Because I have no idea how she affords all the ones she does. And they're all from different companies so it's not like a friend doing it.

I'd like to be a "mermaid" model, but I'm not really "aiming" for it. Modeling in general is what I'm looking for. Do people browse for models and contact them? I'm not looking to make any money out of this. Just doing it for fun/a hobby.

Any help?

SilverSiren
09-18-2012, 01:59 AM
I know one thing for sure... Hell no you don't pay for the shoot! If someone asks you to model for them, know who they represent, read your contract, read your consent form, make your own consent form even to ensure your pictures don't get used in some weird way you don't like and no one who gets asked to model pays, they pay YOU! I know you said your not in it for money but I would take money, if they are not willing to pay it would give me red flags. You might need an agent if you don't have a website and self represent, you don't pay agents either! I think they get a reasonable percentage of want you make from the shoots they find for you but you don't pay them unless YOU get paid. Don't let anyone rip you off! There are plenty of people willing to screw you over in this field if you don't know what your doing. Just remember, everyone pays you, not the other way around.

Blondie
09-18-2012, 02:05 AM