PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from an Aspiring Mermaid in North Carolina

SekhmetsSiren
11-11-2012, 09:42 PM
Hello,
So glad I ran into this site! I'm a 20 year old student and harpist, recently moved to North Carolina. I ran across one of Hannah Fraser's videos and thought "I want to be her!" Further research brought me here. It was great to find other people like me, ensuring me that I wasn't entirely crazy.
Growing up in Georgia, I spent a considerable amount of my childhood enjoying the beach, and every waking moment of those trips was spent swimming in the ocean. I daydreamed about turning into a mermaid because I never wanted to return to the shore. Naturally, I was devastated when my dad's work relocated us to Illinois, so I'm quite excited to have just moved to North Carolina. It's still a good four hours to the beach, but that is considerably closer than before. :D
I chose the mermaid name Sekhmet of the Egyptian goddess with the same name, often associated with pestilence but capable of bringing healing. I strongly believe we have the same ability, to heal or destroy our beautiful world. I'm passionate about environmental causes, and while I'm excited about the possibility meeting fellow mermaid enthusiasts, I'm equally happy about a community of people with similar concerns.
Unfortunately, due to a recent illness that took me out for a couple months, I don't have much energy, so I'm not much of a swimmer at this point. Currently, I'm doing a lot of research to prepare myself to make my first mermaid tail. In the meantime, I thought I could practice with a monofin in order to build my endurance.
I love both sharks and great cats (another reason to relate to Sekhmet), and would love to play with making a tail that portrays those loves, like a shark inspired tail or one with tiger stripes or leopard spots. Suppose I should focus on tackling a simple fabric tail first, though, lol.