PDA

View Full Version : Artists helping artists

Shadow Fancy
02-08-2013, 11:15 AM
I recently learned that a fellow artist, who has contributed much to the corseting community was finally diagnosed with advanced neurological lyme disease.

Her name is Sidney Eileen. She may not be part of the mermaiding community, but she is an artist and inspiration. She has brought much into the corseting world. Here is her story as on the indegogo fund raising to help raise the money for her treatments-

I, Sidney Eileen, Need Your Help Without your help, I have no financial means of receiving the treatment I so desperately need.
I am a self-taught artist, seamstress, and craftswoman, specializing in realistic artwork, minimalist artwork, Celtic knotwork, corsetry, and costuming. I have a passion for unique and custom creations, a passion for learning, and a passion for passing on what I learn. Unfortunately, advanced neurological lyme disease has had a tremendous negative impact on my life, and my productivity has gone further and further downhill until at this point I only finished two corsets, one vest, and one tutorial in all of 2012. By comparison, in 2010 I drafted and created 16 corsets (http://sidneyeileen.com/portfolios/corsetry/), 1 surtout, and a wedding gown (http://sidneyeileen.com/portfolios/costume/punk-wedding/); wrote 12 tutorials and articles (http://sidneyeileen.com/tutorials/sewing/) of various lengths, including most of the longer tutorials on my web site; completely rebuilt my web site TWICE, once at the beginning of the year (ZenPhoto), and again at the end of the year (WordPress, which I still use); and also organized and put on workshops. In 2011 my symptoms reached the point of causing disability, and my productivity went steadily downhill. The longer I go without treatment, the more debilitating my condition will become, especially since it is now affecting my coordination and cognitive functions, and periodically causing seizures.