PDA

View Full Version : Airbrush?

emma11
07-15-2013, 09:50 AM
I have an airbrush, and I'd certainly love to use it on my tail, I think there could be a lot of good coming out of that.

however, my concern is that the latex will clog up the airbrush and render it... well useless.

Any help/knowledge?

ShyMer
07-15-2013, 11:26 AM
what kind of airbrush do you have? depending on how easy it is to take apart, it will be easier or harder to clean up.

I have a cheapo Master, a slightly better Master, and a Badger. Neither of the Masters are easy to clean because they don't come apart as nicely as the Badger, so I have trouble keeping them clear. Even so though, you shouldn't have much to worry about.

I mixed my latex with the paint and diluted it with water. I don't know if this is technically correct, but it worked just fine for me. I mixed my paint in an empty plastic water bottle so that I could shake it thoroughly, then I strained it with a fine mesh material (cheese cloth, netting, panty hose, whatever I happened to have, because I forget stuff.) If you strain the lumps out, you won't have nearly as many problems, but it will clog up eventually. If it seems to be having trouble coming out of the brush, check to see if there are lumps in the well, or if it's still having trouhble, take it apart the best you can. I used a flashlight to see and a toothpick (sometimes the airbrush needle, which probably isn't recommended) to pry out all the latex. It does tend to create a dried layer of latex on all of the inner surfaces, so watch for that, especially in the tip.

Definitely make sure you clean it thoroughly after you're done. You should be fine :)

emma11
07-15-2013, 12:10 PM
I have a few, though the one I wanted to use was this fairly cheap Dinair airbrush my mother bought for me last year. It hasn't had much use as of yet, and I don't mind breaking it, lol.