PDA

View Full Version : First tail help

Merrow Erie
07-18-2013, 07:58 PM
Hey guys. So I'm brand new to all this and I've run into several brick walls. The biggest one being money D:

I want a fabric tail really bad. Dropping money on a sewing machine I will probably only use once is just not an option, so I'm going to have to suck it up and order from somebody. The second-biggest challenge is the monofin. I'm chunky for 5'3, and while magictail looks awesome, I don't think monofins like that would propel me much given their size and mine :/ I was also born with hobbit feet, and I won't chance anything smaller than a womens 9 1/2, which a lot of tails don't go up to.

So yeah, not a ridiculously expensive fabric tail and/or a flimsy monofin. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm brand new to all of this, I'd appreciate the help...

Miyu
07-19-2013, 11:43 PM
Hi there! If you really want to custom-make it yourself, sewing by hand really isn't too hard, and something without a lot of details, like a tail, could be done fairly quickly (and, it's portable, so you can work on it at places). I totally understand not wanting to hand-sew, I think I'm crazy for sewing most of my clothing by hand :P But it is a great way to get a totally custom, perfect fit.

As for being short and having hobbit feet... yep. Long toes + wide feet means that there are very few shoes that fit correctly (I wear flip-flops a lot, LOL). I'm working on the monofin issue by planning to make my own possibly, since I can't afford the $350 one I want :P Just trying to track down a source of plastic... I'd be interested in finding a good commercial monofin for myself as well, though.

Mermaid Tasia
07-23-2013, 02:57 PM