PDA

View Full Version : Making a Monofin

coral_sybil
07-31-2013, 10:32 PM
Hey, I'm new to mermaiding and I've been looking at making my own tail. And as I've also been looking at making a monofin. To which I've found this: Making a Monofin for $20 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbaDYmGUhbA) It's a youtube video.

However looking at it, I'm honestly not sure if that would. So I was wondering what you all think. Would this work or is there a better pattern out there I should use?

Thanks!

Miyu
07-31-2013, 11:01 PM
I've been looking at using plastic office chair mats, as well as rubber mats. It seems pretty floppy, though, and I would personally want the fluke to be larger than the rubber mat tutorial. But from what I hear, swim shoes work just fine as foot pockets!

coral_sybil
07-31-2013, 11:07 PM
Thanks, I'll try it and share what happens.

MerAnthony
07-31-2013, 11:22 PM
In my opinion I would use Lexan. A polycarbonite. Get it thin enough it is flexable an will NOT break. You can fold it onto itself an still will not break. It is the same stuff they make bullet proof glass out of. I made a monofin out of lexan an it works pretty good.

coral_sybil
07-31-2013, 11:53 PM
In my opinion I would use Lexan. A polycarbonite. Get it thin enough it is flexable an will NOT break. You can fold it onto itself an still will not break. It is the same stuff they make bullet proof glass out of. I made a monofin out of lexan an it works pretty good.

Where would you get that?

MerAnthony
08-01-2013, 06:44 AM
You can buy it at most hardware stores. True Value, Ace, Home Depot, Lowe's.

Miyu
08-01-2013, 06:46 AM
If you have a problem finding it, I think it's used in windows instead of glass sometimes. But from what I hear, it's just worth it to shell out for Lexan.

MerAnthony
08-01-2013, 09:16 AM
But when you do buy some make sure it is. NOT plexi glass it will shatter like glass when used( can not take the stress)

Mermaid Momo
08-01-2013, 11:29 AM