PDA

View Full Version : Shy Hi...

Daphne
08-26-2013, 08:36 PM
Hi all :)

My name's Daphne. I'm not a mermaid. Not just yet. I do hope to join that swim team someday, and come up with a clever stage name and everything. I joined about 10 minutes ago, and figured the Chesapeake Pod would be a nice group to hang out in, since I'm up near Baltimore. (Sorry, I mean Balamur :p)

For now, I'm an artist. For eight to nine hours a day, I wear many hats as a print designer, logo/icon illustrator, production artist, cartoon artist, concept artist, comic artist, video editor and occasional copywriter. After that, I spend the few precious I got eating psudeo-real food, playing some D&D with my husband, and/or drawing characters and various things in Photoshop.

And speaking of Photoshop, I've been concepting a lot of tails. It's been my escape...more on that in a minute.

My fascination with this whole mermaid thing stems from my longtime love of mythology and storytelling, and as a former gamer. I used to play World of Warcraft and City of Heroes. I also used to play D&D on message boards and chatrooms, and particularly loved making characters. I loved imagining how they conducted themselves as a race, what they owned, what they wear, how they fought. Sometimes I'd draw them. Of late, my husband and I have tried out an offshoot of D&D that's completely underwater from a guide called "Cerulean Seas." It's A LOT of fun creating campaigns and role-playing through various characters, and working through the underwater equivalents of races, classes, beasts, environs etc.

Around that time I also stumbled upon a Facebook page called Merbella Studios. I didn't even know there were such a thing as performing mermaids back then...much less becoming one. Then several months later, I saw a post of theirs mentioning templates for designing a tail.