PDA

View Full Version : My First Swim TOMORROW!: What do I need to know?

AtlantisDreamer
11-11-2013, 04:15 AM
So my tail should arrive tomorrow, or on Tuesday at the latest. I've never used a monofin before and so I'm wondering what I need to know for my first swim. It will be in a pool that's not too deep to stand on the bottom, but I'm also a very strong swimmer and did competitive swimming as a kid, and then have been surfing and swimming in the ocean now for several years. I can swim with a dolphin motion without any kind of monofin, "the dolphin kick," as they call it. Oddly enough, I've never actually used fins before though, so I really don't know what to expect in terms of the sensation and propulsion... I think I might've used a pair of fins to snorkel in Mexico when I was eight or nine years old but I can't remember for sure and even if so, can't remember much about the experience. The monofin I'll be using is a Finis Monofin and is really large. Any hints, tips, advice, opinions, or stories/personal experiences about how the first time using a monofin was would be greatly appreciated - thank you!

Mermaid Annariea
11-11-2013, 01:03 PM
tip number one: DO NOT STAND IN/ON YOUR TAIL. concrete will scrape the hell out of whatever your tail is made from and it'll end up ruining your tail :( if the pool has a rubbery/vinyl covering over the concrete, that's a little better, but still try to keep contact to a minimum. it WILL be tiring, but it's worth it to keep your tail in top shape :D

as for swimming in a monofin... i have an oceanika, so i can't say how your monofin will act, but mine tends to be a tad rough on my ankles, mostly because it's a bit heavy (all that soaked rubber, neoprine, and latex lol), but nothing bad, just a little tiring. and because they rub up against each other, sometimes my inside ankle bones are slightly bruised, but again that doesn't matter much because it doesn't hurt terribly and my ankles don't touch normally.