PDA

View Full Version : The Process of Buying a Tail AND Getting What You Pay For

Seatan
12-21-2013, 07:01 PM
It seems like the mermaid community is awash with people selling sub-par tails and refusing returns or refunds. Personally, I think this has gone on long enough and it is time to stop saying "well, it was custom and they said no returns and refunds on custom work" and start getting what we paid for.

As someone with much experience in customer service, I want to share a few facts that I feel might be helpful to people new to the mermaid community who are looking to buy tails. Also, as a teacher, I understand the kind of documentation and professional mannerisms you need to have legal ground to stand on when someone does you wrong (or accuses you of doing something wrong), which I will share in the sections about taking action against faulty or late products.

Index:
Approximate Price of Tails
Inferior Products Used by Tailmakers to Lower Production Costs
Important Lesson: Beware the Tailmaker Who Doesn't Charge For Labor
14 Questions to Ask Your Tailmaker BEFORE You Pay
Inferior Vs. The Norm: What IS a Good Tail?
Taking Action Against an Inferior Product
Taking Action Against a Late Product

Approximate Price of Tails

Most important thing to know: You should be VERY suspicious of ANYONE selling tails at or below the cost of making them and do EXTENSIVE research before purchasing.

(Note that this post is in regards to paying someone ELSE to make your tail, not making your own. There are also probably exceptions to the rules about the pricing that I list.the point is that The only time I would trust a tailmaker offering a tail at or below the cost of materials is one who is openly trying to hone their craft. Also, I am only really familiar with the costs of making fabric and silicone tails, so if anyone thinks the price ranges should be different, please let me know.)

Terms Defined