PDA

View Full Version : Dying Your Hair

MermaidAmestris
02-15-2014, 02:33 AM
So I really want to dye my hair from blonde to black. I'm not super afraid of drying it out because my hair is oily as is, but I'm still afraid of it looking ugly in general. Are there any natural dyes that can help me get a good color? And would I have to keep redying it constantly (like if I were to dye it blue or something), or would I only need to dye the roots? Is there a permanent dye that holds its own against chlorine and saltwater and constantly being underwater? Should I dye it myself, or get it done at a salon, and what would be a good price estimate? Haha, sorry I don't know much about dying my hair, I've never been allowed to before

Morenna
02-15-2014, 03:17 AM
Personally, I'd find a salon to do it if possible. They'll know best how to do it safely for your hair and keep it healthy. I don't know if there's a way to permanently dye hair, but I'm not an expert. That might be a question I'd ask the stylist. I haven't ever gone as dark as black, but I do habitually have mine dyed a dark auburn/red and I'm always having to have the roots touched up as my hair grows out pretty quickly.

In my personal experience, the more exposure to water I've had, the faster my dye washes out, but I've also been told that's a hazard of going with reds. I'm not honestly certain about blacks. Again, I'd probably ask a professional.

As for a price estimate, it depends where you go. I go to a mid-/high-end place and for a full color my stylist charges $95 and for a touch up on roots just a little over half that. You could probably find a place to do it for cheaper, but I'd be leery of the quality of the dye they're using and what damage it could do to your hair if you decide to keep doing it.