PDA

View Full Version : I need some tail advice merfolk!

SiaTheMermaid
05-16-2014, 08:52 PM
Hey there!

Okay, so I really want to order a tail and go swimming ASAPbut I see a lot of advice on here telling people not to go for full silicone for their first tail. Here's my problems;

1. I only have enough money for one tail
2. I would really love for it to be silicone.

Normally (being the responsible person I am) I would go for the fabric first, but if I do this it may mean not getting my silicone tail for another 2-3 years until I have the funds again. You may be wondering "How can you have funds for silicone and not fabric?". Well, I have the exact amount for a silicone tail and sure, if I buy fabric I will have money left over but that's not a good thing. I'm a student who is old enough to party and who has very little saving skills.

I'm buying a tail to use professionally, not just for recreation and I know I will be able to care for it (Thanks for the tips on here everyone!).

So advice? Much appreciated!

MerEmma
05-16-2014, 08:57 PM
Do you have enough for shipping as well? Make sure to count that into your money, plus according to your location on the sidebar there you live in Scotland which can make it up to $500.

SiaTheMermaid
05-16-2014, 09:11 PM
Yeah I have that aside too, although it would have been ideal if there was tail makers in my own country

MerEmma
05-16-2014, 09:15 PM
While everyone here recommends starting with MINIMUM a monofin, it's certainly not required. If you're a strong enough swimmer, know you have places you can swim with it, and realize the (likely minimal!) risk that comes with having never swum in a tail beforehand (meaning you realize you may not like it, it may be painful at first until you get it down, etc.), you can certainly get one!

We all just want everyone to make smart decisions to keep themselves & their bank accounts safe. :)

SiaTheMermaid
05-16-2014, 09:19 PM