PDA

View Full Version : Tankini Top Decorating?

Nomie
06-25-2014, 01:29 PM
So I was wondering would just buying a regular tankini top and then decorating it to look mermaid-ish be a good idea? I'm not that good at sewing by hand & I don't have a sewing machine so making a top by hand can't really happen. Also I waould like to do a tankini because of my belly and don't think it would be pretty to leave that out. So I was just wondering if I can do this, how I would also go about decorating it?

Raayvhen
06-28-2014, 06:21 PM
Fishnetting, greenery, small shells, sequins, rhinestones, the possibilities are endless.

GreenAsSin
06-28-2014, 07:04 PM
You could probably decorate it the same way you'd decorate a bra or a bikini top, you just have a larger area to cover. Netting draped over the stomach section would be easy to attach things to either with glue or knots, so that could be a way around doing a lot of sewing.

Nomie
06-29-2014, 09:50 PM
Thanks, the netting sounds like a good idea for covering the larger area and putting things on it. Thanks again :)

AmbrGlows
07-10-2014, 12:54 AM
How is your tankini coming along Nomie? I'm trying to figure out how I want to make my top as I don't like to show a lot of my gut. It's big & It's far paler than my arms and even my legs since I never go with it uncovered.

Nomie
07-10-2014, 03:36 PM
Well right now I am trying to find a tankini top that looks sort of mermaid-ish but isn't skinny mini size or too skin tight and that I'm thinking of doing some netting and mybe some small seashells. I just want to make something that is nice but functional with not showing my belly.

PearlieMae
07-10-2014, 04:30 PM
I made this with a bra and a piece of fabric that covers my belly...shell, pearls, beads, sequins, every little bit of junk I could lay my hands on...and glued everything down. First I used silicone caulk as an adhesive, but some bits started falling off, so I switched over to E6000.