PDA

View Full Version : Just Getting Started!

misshollydawn
07-17-2014, 05:25 AM
Hey Mergals and Merguys.
I'm just starting to dip my fin into this line of 'work.'
A small bio : I'm a professional dancer, model, actor, singer. I love what I do, but sometimes, a girl is just sick of standing, you know? I've been trying to find my way into mermaid modeling, but since I moved to Vegas, things aren't turning out as well as they had back in LA. I wonder why... maybe because mermaids can't thrive in a desert, I don't know...
Back in LA, I did some underwater photography, and even swam in a friend's tail for fun just to get the feel of it. But now I'm out here, it looks like I have to start from the beginning.

Any pointers? Comments? Questions? Concerns?
Anything would be helpful.

My main objective : I want to do fun gigs or shows. IE kid's parties, night club atmosphere, so on...
I have a friend who does this work, but when I asked her about it, she basically said to figure it out on my own. "friend" :thumbdown:

Echidna
07-17-2014, 08:05 AM
hello there!

mermaid modelling/photography can be a bit slow, especially when you aim for underwater.
there just aren't that many photographers around able to do underwater shoots.
I started with "normal" modelling and went on from there. Connections help.

Not sure about gigs with kids (you probably have to build up a reputation and clientele for that), but with nightclubs, you can always volunteer first if they're not sure about a mermaid.

I would have thought that one should get ample performance opportunities in a city like Vegas, but maybe there's just a lot of competition already?
(which would explain your "friend's" unwillingness to help you out.
she might be struggling herself already. and the showbiz is a really unfriendly place in general.)

misshollydawn
07-17-2014, 08:14 AM