PDA

View Full Version : What do you do with your pictures once you have them?

Jadestone
11-24-2014, 06:35 PM
So, I'm relatively new to the modeling side of mermaiding... this week I had my first two photoshoots that I didn't orchestrate myself. But now I'm not sure what quite to do with the images? It's nice to just have them & post them myself, but does anyone have any experience submitting their photos to anywhere--outside the mer community/facebook? One photographer I worked with recommended Fae Magazine (who do Mermaids & Mythology!), but I've never done that sort of thing before, so thought I'd ask around while I'm waiting for the edits etc!

Do any of you do something besides publish online yourself? Other tips? I'd love to know!!

Shimmer Mermaid
11-24-2014, 07:31 PM
Deviant art is a good place to go. Raina posts on it, and she gets a bit of buzz from them. I am a photographer (besides a mermaid) and I post a lot of pictures to it too. Gets a nice little bit of buzz on photos and your page. Plus you can link to other sites like your youtube channel and you can get more viewers like that too.

Merman Chatfish
11-24-2014, 09:17 PM
Once I start taking pictures of myself I would defiantly do Deviant art. Plus if you want to you can add watermarks to prevent thief or sell images. I just started following you on Tumbler!

Jadestone
11-24-2014, 09:27 PM
I've had a DeviantArt account for several years, but I generally only put my own work up. I've also found I get more exposure/etc through tumblr than DA lately, although I could start a mermaid-specific account there I guess.

I was more wondering along non-personal lines--whether anyone has had luck submitting their photos to magazines or books or that sort of thing. I don't think it's as common, but might generate more exposure? I'm not sure.

MermaidenKaraLynn
12-17-2014, 09:28 AM