PDA

View Full Version : How difficult is it to swim in a silicone tail vs a swimsuit fabric (w monofin) tail?

Mermaid Gipsy
12-05-2014, 12:15 AM
Dat awkward title phrasing.
I have a tail from Fin Fun with the monofin that comes with it. I remember reading a forum by Raina saying that silicone tails are HEAVY. ...Or, was it latex? Correct me if I'm wrong; I'm still learning how to navigate the forums and I was unable to find it again.

My grandparents were really skeptical when I brought out my Fin Fun tail for the first time, worried that I wouldn't be able to swim well in it and drown (pfff). I found the tail actually helps me swim much easier, with the monofin propelling me and the fabric just being amazing aesthetically (it's just not the SAME with just the monofin!). I already swam using a dolphin kick for several years, so it was not an issue at all. I'm a bellydancer, so those muscles are used to the motion. I wonder if the bigger monofin on the silicone tails will make me swim faster, but also wonder if the weight of the tail will negate that.

How hard would you say it is to swim in a full silicone tail with a HUGE monofin, compared to a little thing that's basically just a good quality monofin with some fabric around my legs? As mentioned previously, I know they're heavy, but are they difficult to swim in? Will be much different, or about the same but with more effort/weight? Please, enlighten me.

Thank you for reading, and any input would be appreciated! :)

Echidna
12-05-2014, 08:55 AM
I asked the very same thing not too long ago!

The weight of a silicone tail does not matter when underwater, you'll feel it when trying to lift it out of the water though.

A fabric tail (especially with a smaller fluke) is more manoeverable, but has more drag (I HATE drag!).