Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP Rates for a wedding

Exclamation HELP Rates for a wedding

I recently got an inqury to work at a wedding this January but I'm not entirely sure what my rates would be for this event, because it is a lot longer then any of my other gigs (so far I've only done kids parties). I'm extremely excited because it will hopefully be the first of several varied events for me but I want to make sure that they aren't getting ripped off and neither am I... any suggestions on price?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    My heart is pierced by Cupid, I disdain all glittering gold,
    There is nothing that can console me but my jolly sailor bold.
    ~ETSY: Trove by the Sea~Google +~FACEBOOK~
    mermaidmarissa.studios@gmail.com

"Imagine a life of wonder"

Visit Talia's Youtube Channel
    I am no expert on rates for wedding, but if it were me, I would take into considerations 3 factors:
    1- The total time they want me there and doing what; posing for pics - cheap; swimming, entertaining children - not so cheap
    2- The numbers of guests and the catering - the more guests they have, the more money they are spending, the more they can afford to pay me.
    3- The place where it is hold - a private house with pool - cheap; a big venue with a big pool, or several pools - not so cheap

I once read that a belly dancer working for a wedding should ask at least $300 for 30 minutes of their time (an average of $100-$150 for 15 minutes). I am unsure how professional mermaids value their minutes, maybe Raina can help with that.

I'm with you, I've only done children's parties. I totally agree with Talia! Lots of different things should play a part on your decision on what to charge. Personally, I have a template type thing.

It's something like this (I'm actually at school so I don't have it on me, sorry)

First ___ hrs = $____
    Each additional hour (I round up) = $____
    Wet show time (swimming etc) ($___/hr) = $___