Thread: Marine Biology Majors?

Marine Biology Majors?

Good morning my fellow merfolk,

I recently left college during my sophomore year due to health problems, and I've been really wanting to go back...except I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was a psychology major and a social work major before that, but ever since I've been getting involved in mer-culture, I've been thinking that maybe I want to work for the sea.

There's a university within an hour from me, where I could stay on campus if I want....but probably won't, and they offer one of the very few Marine and Freshwater Biology majors in my state! It's supposedly a good program that requires study abroad in the Melbourne Australia area, which is sooooo cool. I want to do it so bad, but I don't know if I'm smart enough for it.

Does anybody here have experience with Marine Biology? I'm not very good at chemistry and math beyond algebra (trig really killed me), but I love biology and I have a passion for helping all creatures big and small. What kind of classes would I be looking at? What skills would I need if I want to pursue this path? I need as much advice as I can get.

Thank you!

Selkie Luna

Hey SelkieLuna,

I have some experience with courses in oceanography & marine biology, even though I decided to go into biotech.

Others may chime in with their experiences, but here's mine.

Oceanography is very chemistry/maths/analysis intensive. You also have to organize your life so that you can go out to sea on trips lasting weeks or even months at a time.

Marine biology less so, more biology, less chemistry/physics/math.

In a conversation with one of my oceanography profs, he mentioned that there was shortage of oceanographers willing to do the hardcore maths & chemistry, and that graduates with majors in ocenography were getting jobs relatively easily, while there was a lot of competition for marine biology jobs.