Thread: Running a Mermaid School

Senior Member Undisclosed Pod

Running a Mermaid School

Hey folks, I made a blog post about running a mermaid school that some of you might be interested in

http://rainamermaid.weebly.com/blog/...hool-adventure

This is interesting, I sort of assumed a mermaid school was out of my reach unless I was a certified swim instructor. I've been making friends with a local dive shop that does swim lessons, maybe I'll pitch them the idea someday.

yeah I am not comfortable doing it without working with swim instructors, but I am a certified first aid and CPR instructor haha so I train the lifeguards. And a licensed teacher - which in Canada has higher standards than most other places in the world (2 degrees, 6 years of uni minimum)

But I think it's doable for those of us non instructors if you collaborate with others. They help the kids refine the technique, I pretty much do everything else

This is amazing <3
    The Magical Mystical MerFanc
    A Welsh Lake Monster with control of weather, water and water creatures.
    Resident sea monster, best friend of sharks and ducks, lover of the Deep Ocean.
    Known on all other social media as theAfanc

This is a really great and informative blog! I have a suggestion, instead of wearing your silicone tails to these classes you could buy or make your own fabric tail so that way if it gets worn down the cost to repair or replace it isn't anywhere near as much. I'm sure the kids who take the classes especially the younger ones won't really mind or even notice that you have a fabric tail since most of them would have not even seen any mermaid tail before little lone a silicone one. I think you should reserve your silicone tail for professional gigs only.