Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wannabe mermaid from the UK

Wink Wannabe mermaid from the UK

Hi guys

i have always loved to swim, have always loved marine animals, I grew up watching free willy and splash and the little mermaid till I was blue in the face. I am also a Pisces

Recently discovered these silicone mermaid tails and have fell in love... I REEEEEEEEALLY want one.

The tails look so beautiful and majestic.

I emailed fin folk this morning so awaiting a reply regarding prices etc.

im just wondering if there are other people into mermaids etc as I am in the UK? Are there meet ups to show off our tails and swimming in them etc

im new to all of this so any tips and advice please get at me!

Hi! I am from the Uk, too. We got a merpod on fb, if you want to find us: merpod uk

It is great that you want to be a mermaid too! I only have one concern: have you swam in a mermaid tail before or with a monofin? I read that you are currently interested in a silicone tail. You must know some things about them first, if you are new to this: they are HEAVY, more difficult to swim with than a fabric one, very expensive, not indestructible and not recommended for mers who are not fully grown (to avoid disappointment in terms of them growing really fast and the tail being too small and short). Otherwise, yes they are amazing! I am currently in the process of ordering one i.e. Their making the molds at the moment. I have swam with a monofin first, then got myself a fabric tail and swam with that for a long time (there are some beautiful ones out there). I personally would recommend starting out slow and then later think about a silicone one. It could also be that after a year or so you don't like mermaiding after all and then you got a pricey silicone tail lying around.
    Raina has a really good vlog on youtube, that helped me and other mers a lot, especially when you start out.

I hope this helps!
    Good luck!