Thread: First silicone tail [emoji33][emoji33]

First silicone tail

I've decided it's time to get a more realistic tail but with so many choices I'm a little overwhelmed and I like to get your opinions and advice for such an important choice.

I've been swimming for the past 4 years in a fabric tail I made myself using the Finis rapid. I've never used any other monofin and only done pool and lake swims. My other issue is a have a limited budget, at this point I can't go over 1500. I've seen the Mertailors Spellbound line and I really like it but I've seen more negative than positive reviews on it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's so exciting! If you don't like mertailor, then perhaps you want to look at finfolk's mythic line? They're not full silicone, but they are absolutely stunning. They start at around $975 and come in around 5 colors, then it's another 500 if you want to have the whole set of extra fins. Of course you can also just pick and choose certain fins if you don't want to use your full budget on it. Although the only downside I've heard about them is that the scales are pretty fragile. The ones around your feet tend to scuff up if you ever stand up in a pool and they sometimes crack. (you can see reviews of it on youtube)

There's also the option of making your own tail, which is significantly cheaper (and sometimes faster). There are LOADS of threads on here about it. I suppose the only downside of it is that your tail isn't in the hands of a "professional", but with enough research it is possible to create a tail just as beautiful as the big tail makers.