Thread: Heart Problems and Mermaiding

Heart Problems and Mermaiding

Hi, so as the title says heart problems and mermaiding. I guess you could figure it out...maybe. But I had an ASD which basically means there was a hole in my heart and its now filled so everything's good. But I'm afraid that my heart wouldn't be able to handle a silicone tail.

I am able to effectively and safely swim competitively for around five+ hours and never have any problems. And I've been swimming for around three years with a fabric tail.

I've also been working on my body strength and cardio but apart of me still is afraid that the weight would be too much.

Are there any mers out there with heart problems and swim with silicone tails?

My doctor says swimming is good for me but I still haven't brung up mermaiding. I will when I see them again in a few months. If anyone knows please reply! Thanks.

Sent from my VS425PP using MerNetwork mobile app
    Mermaid Mikayla

Senior Member Undisclosed Pod
    I have one as well and I have been fine! I just get checked out every year.

Quote Originally Posted by AniaR View Post
    I have one as well and I have been fine! I just get checked out every year.
    I do too, and it gets annoying going to the doctor once year. And you had an ASD?

Mermaid Mikayla

I have a small hole from being born premature. Mine is lower (so not on top) and it just causes me a murmur it's really small. It has mostly closed on it's own and I haven't needed surgery but I get checked out just in case.

I do find I get chest pain if I do cardio at too strong a pace. But mermaiding has never caused it.