Thread: What would you recommend as pool rules for mermaiding?

What would you recommend as pool rules for mermaiding?

Hiya! I'm new to mermaiding, just waiting for my first tail to arrive. I've contacted a local pool about their policies regarding tails, and they replied that they have no special policies in place, meaning I would be free to swim as I wanted to. I'm not complaining, but I started wondering... should there be rules? What kind of rules should they be?

The rules the pool has by default are the usual: only allowed in the deep pool if you can swim, children with supervision etc. However, should there be something in the rules about passing a swim test with a monofin before being allowed in with a mermaid tail? Maybe something like 100 m swimming with a monofin and demonstrating the ability to float with it in case you tire out? Also, should mermaids always be accompanied by a friend, either with or without a tail?

Thoughts, comments, suggestions for possible swim test requirements? Am I just overthinking this?

Welcome, Snowfaerie! Those are helpful suggestions, but most of us come from places where equipment is severely restricted, if it's even allowed at all. That means most pools flat out disallow monofins -- and unless you book a lane and let them disavow responsibility, no dice.

The mindset that anything you use to have fun should be banned needs to change, then the rules can be sorted out.
    "Only in death does duty end." -- Warhammer 40,000

Quote Originally Posted by Ransom View Post
    Welcome, Snowfaerie! Those are helpful suggestions, but most of us come from places where equipment is severely restricted, if it's even allowed at all. That means most pools flat out disallow monofins -- and unless you book a lane and let them disavow responsibility, no dice.

The mindset that anything you use to have fun should be banned needs to change, then the rules can be sorted out.