Thread: Possibly buying a neoprene

Senior Member Pod of The South MidsummerMermaid's Avatar

Possibly buying a neoprene

It's getting colder, which means I probably won't be as inclined to use my fabric as much in non-heated pools or springs. So any suggestions where I can get a decent priced neoprene tail for the colder months?
    ***** I have no fear of depths and a great fear of shallow living *****

Senior Member Pod of Texas Mermaid Delphinidae's Avatar
    FinFolk full neoprene tails are normally priced at $335 but they often have misprint ones for $250. They actually have some right now. Mertailor has neoprene tails for $295. But keep in mind that neither of these include monofins.

But I’ve never used a neoprene tail before so I can’t tell you how good they are in the cold, or how good the different brands are. But I have seen some FinFolk tails in action and they look pretty good, plus depending on the one you get they can be used with a variety of monofins. The Mertailor monofin is pretty pricey so unless you already own one, it won’t be the most cost effective option.

Sent from my iPhone using MerNetwork

You probably will get the same issues as we scuba divers have. You may need a weight belt. When I am not scuba diving, I use a 5.5mm suit with 2 kg weights.

Quote Originally Posted by Mermaid Delphinidae View Post
    FinFolk full neoprene tails are normally priced at $335 but they often have misprint ones for $250. They actually have some right now. Mertailor has neoprene tails for $295. But keep in mind that neither of these include monofins.

But I’ve never used a neoprene tail before so I can’t tell you how good they are in the cold, or how good the different brands are. But I have seen some FinFolk tails in action and they look pretty good, plus depending on the one you get they can be used with a variety of monofins. The Mertailor monofin is pretty pricey so unless you already own one, it won’t be the most cost effective option.