Thread: Can you fuse bifins to make a unique monofin shape?

Lightbulb Can you fuse bifins to make a unique monofin shape?

Hi friends!

So I have about 5 years of costuming experience and have recently joined the mer community! I have an interesting project concept that I'd really like to work on, but since I'm not super knowledgeable on how monofins and propulsion work I figured I would come here for help.

I'm sure a lot of you who are well versed in mythical creatures know what a selkie is, but for those that don't they are pretty similar to mermaids and mermen, with the exception of two things. One, they are seal based creatures, and two they are actually complete shape shifters that switch between human and seal form using a special seal skin. Also, as a side note, if you haven't read any of the myths I highly encourage it! They're really interesting.

But it got me thinking. What if I made a mermaid tail based on a seal? And I saw a few other mers in the community take a crack at it (Definitely taking that tip of using crushed velvet btw. Genius.) But my biggest problem with the selkie tails I've seen is that they either use a monofin under the tailskin, or they use uncovered, independent bi fins.

Which brings me to my question. Is it possible (and safe) to attempt to fuse two bifins at the ankles to give the illusion of two flippers, but the functionality of a monofin? I'm sure it won't be the strongest or fastest out there. Not by a long shot. But would it work at all? Would it be a possible swimming risk?

Reference Pictures
    Fionna McDonald - Original Artist http://www.kateforsyth.com.au/kates-...-from-scotland (note: website owner is not the original artist.)

https://www.deviantart.com/stressedj...ight-182730004

Thanks in advance for the help!
    Last edited by MermaidFinley; 02-11-2019 at 06:33 AM.