Thread: Hi from NZ

Hi from NZ

Hi, I'm Starfire from Christchurch, NZ. I'm 31 and have only just got interested in mermaiding, since I'm in NZ it looks like I'm mostly on my own for learning. I'm a very strong/confident swimmer, although quite out of shape/unfit at the moment. I've never tried swimming with a monofin before, any suggestions on a cheap one to start with, to see if I like it? I'm considering getting one from aliexpress, Probably this one has anyone else tried one from there? They have some really pretty fabric tails too, like these, I'm tempted to order one in a few months to see what they are like, at the least I'd be able to take it apart and use the pretty printed fabric as the outer layer on a home made tail.

I've got really long hair, down past my butt, that's dyed royal blue, so any tips on managing super long hair when it's loose in the water would be cool.

I do SCA, which is medieval re-enactment so I can sew fairly well and am pretty crafty. Since I'm in NZ and shipping to here is a killer I expect I'll end up making pretty much everything myself.

I'm currently a student, studying to be an Architect part time, so lots of time free, but very little money

HELLO I AM IN THE SCA TOO!

Ok now that the important part is over with, welcome to MerNetwork! It's been pretty slow around here so sorry it took so long for anyone to reply.

I will say that the tails sold on Aliexpress and Wish are knockoffs of realy designs that hardworking tailmakers have created. As such, it can be really damaging to the merCommunity when they are sold because the money doesn't stay within the Comm. That being said, I do have a tail from Wish and I don't believe anyone should be shamed for what they can afford, especially just starting out. So I say go for it, get a tail you like and when you can afford a better tail (If you like the sport) then go with an actual maker.