Hi everyone! My name is Maura. I am currently a NC State senior with a major in Communication, with a focus in Media. I am a sister of Kappa Phi Lambda Sorority Inc. Interesting facts about myself is I used to be an archery instructor and for many years I was a Sea Scout as well as a Venture Scout. I absolutely love the outdoors! I am trying to think of interesting facts about myself on the fly and I can’t really think of any.

I am so excited to be taking the leap and figuring out about the mercommunity! I had no idea that tails even existed until I saw a tail on Wish (which by the way, I would be so nervous to buy a tail from them because it seems way too cheap for the monofin and the skin.)

I was always interested as a little girl in mermaids but when I was growing up I didn’t know of any companies that made mermaid tails. I used to spend all my days and nights in this pool at my house and even back then, I would practice swimming with my legs together, hoping one day I could make my dream come true. I used to look up the mermaid spells when my mom would go to sleep and I would be so upset they didn’t work. Is that anyone else?

I literally have so many questions. I hope I am asking this on the right form because it is beginner questions... but I am not sure! If I am wrong I will be happy to take my post down.

-So first thing is first, what qualifies a person as a mermaid? Do you have to have your first tail before you are considered a merperson or is it more of a spiritual thing? I am so curious!

-I am trying to prepare for buying my first tail and I want to know what physical skill I need in order to do this properly?