Thread: Greetings from Reno, NV

Greetings from Reno, NV

Hey y'all!

I am absolutely new to the mer community. I've always been interested in mermaids and sirens as I'm a big fan of mythology and fantasy. I have been kicking around an actual mermaid costume for years, but hadn't realized there was a bigger community. I have my degree in Theatrical Costume Design so it was a given that I would find my way around to this decision. I even helped make a couple non-swimmable tails while I was working as a Costume Tech in San Antonio, TX before I moved states last year. When I started a new job a few months ago I made a friend who is already in the community doing fantasy photography, does her own mermaiding, and that passion ignited again! So I started to do research on how to make your own tail and what exactly you need to do this. The only things that worries me a little bit is I'm plus size, so definitely more of a Ursula than an Ariel On the plus side I already know how to dolphin kick because my Dad was on his college swim team and made sure my brother and I knew how to swim properly, even the butterfly. So I'd like to think that I'll be comfortable with the swimming style.

As of right now I'm waiting on materials for my tail to get to my house. I bought my first monofin [Linden Monofin by Body Glove] and it should be arriving today! I also got some pretty swimsuit fabric and airbrush textile paint so I can create my first tail. I really hope it gets here soon because I'm ready to go and already have the design in my head!! I've been stalking the tail making threads to get some good ideas and see everyone's designs. Everything is so pretty guys!

The funny part of all this is I told my boyfriend I was 'contemplating being a mermaid' and he just looked at my like I was dumb and asked "You weren't already?" I guess I should add I've had 'mermaid' hair for years. Sea-greens and teal since college as long as I have jobs that let me.