Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tailmaking from old wetsuits?

Tailmaking from old wetsuits?

Has anyone here tried making a tail from recycled wetsuits? I found a wetsuit at a thrift store, and I've decided to make it my project to turn it into a mermaid tail. (I'm a broke college student, just looking for a cheaper way!)
    I know that Mermaid Kariel makes her tails from recycled wetsuits, but hers look so perfect, and I can't figure out how to do it without showing seams everywhere. Anyone have advice?

Senior Member Pod of The South WavyMermaidy's Avatar
    Good question...I was wondering that myself

I'm not a seamstress but I wold assume there are a few ways, also she covers her's in sequins so I'm sure that helps. Experiment?

~ Facebook ~ Youtube ~ Model Mayhem

Need a logo? Website? Business Card? Or anything else?
    "You are anything but ordinary, why look it?" E-mail or message me.

Senior Member Pod of the Great Lakes Bellasea's Avatar
    I would just experiment.
    Also, she uses 3D scales, so that probaly covers the seams. I don't think it would be that hard to hide seams. If you are profficant with a sewing machine you should be good. And if not, use paints, sequins, fabric fringes, or what ever to cover them. I would go for it if the wet suit is cheap.
    Tenacity.

Senior Member North Pacific Pod LindseyLu's Avatar
    Gypsymer made a ptchwork mermaid tail from used wetsuits, you can see it in her album here http://mernetwork.com/index/album.php?albumid=79 Turned out pretty cool!

I really don't think Kariel's famous blue tail is as recycled as people are led to believe. For that tail, I think Kariel glued her scales down onto a base neoprene lining and didn't sew it. The scales may be from recycled wetsuits, but the base is not.

I am not sure if I would recommend doing that though, since that would make a tail twice as thick and easier to overheat in.