Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Metals safe (and unsafe) for Mer-Jewelry

Metals safe (and unsafe) for Mer-Jewelry

Ok, so I haven't seen any of this information on here and I thought it might be helpful for those of you who want to wear any kind of jewelry or accessories in chlorinated or salt water. I am a jeweler by profession. That doesn't mean I just string beads (no offense to you beaders out there), but I size rings, cast precious metals, and fabricate in silver and gold. I know quite a bit about gold and silver, and I see a lot of these metals damaged by exposure to harsh chemicals, especially chlorine!

Sterling Silver: NOT ok for chlorine, sometimes ok for salt water
    Sterling silver is an alloy of 92.5% silver and the rest is copper. The copper in the alloy reacts very badly with chlorine and can turn your sterling jewelry black! This is harder to remove than regular tarnish, and can pit and damage the jewelry much more especially with repeated exposure. As far as I can tell, sterling silver by itself is not bothered too much by ocean water. HOWEVER, most clasps have a little steel spring inside of them which can VERY quickly corrode and rust if exposed to salt, even if only a tiny bit.
    Please don't wear your silver jewelry in the pool or hot tub! And you should take it off when you shower as well, because even some chemicals in soaps and shampoos can damage it.

Yellow and White Gold: NOT ok for chlorine, sometimes ok for salt water