Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Ed's Latex Tail Project

Ed's Latex Tail Project

So I'm a senior in college and it's time to do my senior project. Since I'm a costuming major, I figure its a perfect excuse to make myself a realistic cast tail.

I'm doing it in latex because I'm a poor college student and I can't afford to drop $400 on silicone.

This is the idea sketch for the tail.

Name:  tail design copy.jpg
Views: 1207
Size:  399.4 KB

As you can see, it's mostly inspired by the Thirteenth Year, my fav mer movie. I've got a clear Hydra monofin coming to me, so hopefully I'll be able to cast the fluke fairly thin. Extra fins all depend on how much latex I have leftover after casting the body. Goal is to have it done by the end of March for a pod meetup. Here's hoping.

Fortunately, I can buy all the clay and casting supplies at the local art store, so I get a student discount and won't have to pay shipping. The only thing I'm ordering online is the monofin and Monster Maker's latex.

it seems great good luck
    (Formerly known as Mermaid Claudia)

Senior Member Pod of Oceania OceanRose's Avatar
    Will you make webbed fingers too? LOVE THAT!
    I like the colours in your design too :-)

Hopefully I'll be able to do webbed fingers. I've always wanted webbed gloves with a wrist fin. We'll see if I have any leftover latex.

So while I wait for my monofin to arrive (it shipped out today, but it's also coming from Spain, so who knows when it'll get here) I've started working on my scale sheet. I picked up two of the big 12 packs of foamie sheets, which is a lot more than I needed but better to have too much than too few.

I may be a bit of a masochist for picking the smallest circular punch they had at JoAnn, but I've never much liked the large circle scales a lot of people have and wanted smaller scales.

Name:  HPIM4017.JPG
Views: 1046
Size:  140.7 KB
    Name:  HPIM4018.JPG
Views: 1112
Size:  182.4 KB